Friday, 22 February 2008

Gary Numan - Sydney (31.05.80)

Gary Anthony James Webb, Valerian, Tubeway Army or Gary Numan (take your pick) will be 50 years old on 08 March. He's still touring, albeit with a darker sound. Here's a short set from his synth / new wave / electropop period. It was recorded at The Capitol Theatre in Sydney on 31 May 1980 and recently broadcast on Australian radio station JJJ, hence the occasional announcer interruptions. Excellent sound quality - 37 minutes at 192kbps.
Recommended listening: Replicas + The Pleasure Principle, released within a few months of each other in 1979.
A remastered and expanded version of Replicas is released in the UK on 25/02/2008.


01 I Nearly Married A Human
02 Airlane
03 Me, I Disconnect From You
04 M.E.
05 Films
06 We Are So Fragile
07 Are 'Friends' Electric?
08 Replicas
09 Cars
10 I Die: You Die


Tuesday, 5 February 2008

The Housemartins - Glastonbury (22.06.86)

At 12 noon on Sunday 22 June 1986, The Housemartins were the opening act on Stage One of Glastonbury CND Festival. This was the third and final day of a musicfest which included the likes of That Petrol Emotion, The Waterboys, The Pogues, Psychedelic Furs, The Go-Betweens, Lloyd Cole & The Commotions, The Cure, Half Man Half Biscuit, Madness, Microdisney and The Mighty Lemon Drops.
This appears to be a very good audience recording. It has been fully tagged and mastered. Only 9 tracks, but this is the full set.


01 Think For A Minute
02 Heaven Help Us All
03 Over There
04 Sheep
05 We're Not Deep
06 Anxious
07 Me And The Farmer
08 Happy Hour
09 I'll Be Your Shelter (Just Like A Shelter)

Thursday, 4 October 2007

Talk Talk - Hammersmith Odeon (08.05.86)

You rarely (read never) find a link to download Talk Talk bootlegs, so hopefully this one will generate some interest. Recorded on 8 May 1986 at the Hammersmith Odeon in London, this disc is also known as Talking Colours. This is the original broadcast version. There is another version in circulation which has Tomorrow Started and Renee tagged on to the end, however these tracks are actually from a gig on 11 July 1986 at the same venue. This offering is a cracking set, showcasing the band's excellent instrumentation.
Note that this set differs from the deleted London 1986 release on Pondlife. If you have a copy to sell or exchange, please get in touch.

01. Talk Talk (3:37)
02. Dum Dum Girl (3:59)
03. Life's What You Make It (4:41)
04. Mirror Man - Does Caroline Know? (9:03)
05. Chameleon Day (1:25)
06. Living In Another World (6:26)
07. It's You (4:21)
08. It's My Life (8:21)
09. I Don't Believe In You (5:24)
10. Such A Shame (9:15)

Personnel: Mark Hollis - Vocals, Guitar, Piano
Paul Webb - Bass Guitar, Lee Harris - Drums

Recommended listening - all 5 studio albums (yes, really) and disc 2 of Asides Besides.
Recommended viewing - bonus dvd from Natural History (Sight & Sound version), available for £6.99 at;-1;-1;-1&sku=621367


Wednesday, 30 May 2007

REM - Demos (1990)

Out Of Time, released in February 1991, was the seventh studio album from REM and their second for Warners. It became their biggest seller to date, mainly due to the phenomenal success of Losing My Religion. Here's the demo disc of OOT. It's quite different and sounds even better than the final release. There's an excellent album outtake, It's A Free World Baby and two distinct versions of Radio Song. On the downside, there's no Endgame or Belong.

01 Half A World Away
02 Texarkana
03 It's A Free World Baby
04 Low
05 Radio Song
06 Country Feedback
07 Losing My Religion
08 Near Wild Heaven
09 Shiny Happy People
10 Radio Song #2
11 Me In Honey

Talking Heads - Demos (1975)

Thanks to Alex from the big country, I offer you Talking Heads with their CBS studio demos. Most of these songs were tidied up and appeared on Talking Heads : 77 (1977) and More Songs About Buildings And Food (1978). Four of the songs remained unreleased until the 1992 double cd compilation - Popular Favorites 1976 - 1992 Sand In The Vaseline. From memory the demo versions were used, so unfortunately I cannot make them available. That aside, I'm certain you'll enjoy the raw versions of the remaining songs.
The sound quality is superb.
Why not catch up with their back catalogue, newly remastered with bonus tracks and dvd. You'll pick most of them up for £6 or less (HMV online or Fopp).

01 Psycho Killer *
02 Sugar On My Tongue :(
03 Thank You For Sending Me An Angel +
04 I Want To Live :(
05 I Wish You Wouldn't Say That :(
06 The Girls Want To Be With The Girls +
07 Who Is It? *
08 With Our Love +
09 Stay Hungry +
10 Tentative Decisions *
11 Warning Sign +
12 I'm Not In Love +
13 The Book I Read *
14 Love Goes To Building On Fire :(
15 No Compassion *

* alternate versions appeared on Talking Heads : 77 (1977)
+ alternate versions appeared on More Songs About Buildings And Food (1978)
:( not available for download - refer to tracks 1-4 Sand In The Vaseline (1992)

Sunday, 27 May 2007

Crowded House - Finsbury Park (11.06.94)

Crowded House are back on 02 July 2007 with a new studio album, Time On Earth, available on Parlophone. I'll definitely add that one to my collection. To remind you of how good they were/are, here's an excellent set from 1994, performed at The Fleadh (Irish music festival) Finsbury Park, London. The inter song banter is most entertaining, with security coming in for special treatment. The best is reserved for a poor heckler, to whom the song Pineapple Head is dedicated. Madcap stickman Paul Hester (RIP) is missing from this performance, having decided to stay at home in Melbourne.
Two part zip via Sharebee for several downloading options.

01. When You Come
02. In My Command
03. Fall At Your Feet
04. Fingers Of Love
05. Distant Sun
06. Pineapple Head
07. Four Seasons In One Day
08. There Goes God
09. Locked Out
10. Weather With You
11. Private Universe
12. Don't Dream It's Over
13. Catherine Wheels
14. Together Alone - Aborigine Chant
15. Goodnight aka The Parting Glass

Thursday, 19 April 2007

REM - Black Session (07.05.01) Part 2

As promised, here's the second part for your listening pleasure. The first track (10) happens to be my favourite REM song. As an added bonus, I've included another rendition of Imitation Of Life, which was recorded two days earlier at Nulle Part Ailleurs show, Canal + Studio, Paris.

10 I'll Take The Rain
11 The One I Love
12 She Just Wants To Be
13 Walk Unafraid
14 Losing My Religion
15 Man On The Moon
16 So. Central Rain (I'm Sorry)
17 It's The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)
18 Imitation Of Life